What Does Restricted Mean on Fb?
If you use Facebook, you’ve likely noticed that some of your friends have had a new setting appear in their privacy settings: restricted. What does this mean? And why have some people chosen to restrict their posts? If you’re not familiar with the new “restricted” setting, it essentially means that the visibility on your profile is reduced.
You can set different audience groups for each individual post rather than having one blanket privacy setting for all your posts. This is helpful if you only want certain friends or your Facebook restricted list to see certain things but don’t want to have to change your privacy settings every time.
If you’re not sure why someone would choose to restrict their posts, there are a few reasons why someone might do so. Read on to learn more about what restricted on Fb means, how to edit friend list and how it might be useful for you as well.
What Does Restricted Mean on Facebook?
When someone sets their posts to “restricted,” it means that their posts will only be visible to their friends or restricted list on Facebook which is also using it as their chosen platform for communication. This means that people who are not using Facebook will not be able to see the content.
It differs from the way the Facebook app used to work when “private” settings meant that the content was only visible to friends, while Facebook posts that were set to “public” could theoretically be viewed by anyone. Today, the public setting is actually a combination of the previous “private” and “friends of friends” settings.
How to Set Restricted on Facebook
You can set your posts to be restricted in your privacy settings. Go to your Facebook profile and click “edit privacy” under your name. From there, you can choose whether you want the content to be visible only to friends, only to friends of friends, or to only yourself. You can also click “custom” if you want to further narrow the audience for a specific post.
Doing this allows you to send a more private message to a specific friend or post content that you only want certain friends or your Facebook restricted list to see. If you choose to set your posts to be visible only to yourself, however, you will not be able to see any of the posts from your friends. This may not be the ideal setting for everyone, but it’s helpful if you want to step back from the social media world for a bit and take a break from the constant sharing that goes on.
Why People Set Restricted on Facebook
There are a few reasons why Facebook users might choose to restrict their posts. The most common reasons are as follows:
Protect Children and Family Members
Some Facebook friend may set their public posts to be restricted because they have young children. If they are worried about online predators and other negative influences online, they may set their posts to be visible to only their friends in order to minimize the chance of their kids seeing anything harmful. They can also limit past posts to restrict the person’s profile.
Some parents may even go a step further and restrict their posts so that they are only visible to themselves. This way, they can keep an eye on what is going on without having to worry about their children seeing things they shouldn’t. This is also helpful for people who believe they may have been added to an account by mistakes, such as an account belonging to a child or a relative who may not be old enough to use Facebook.
If you have children, you may want to set your posts to be visible only to themselves. This will allow you to share content without having to worry about your kids seeing things that are not appropriate for them. You can also set up a secret account and use that to share things with your kids.
Restricting posts can also be helpful if you have a friend or family member who is going through a difficult time or dealing with a health problem. You may not want to remove them from your account completely, but you may also want to avoid constantly seeing posts about their situation or updates about their treatment on your news feed.
Setting your future posts to be visible to only your Facebook friends allows you to stay in touch with people who are important to you but also gives you the privacy to avoid constantly seeing updates that make you feel uncomfortable or distressed. You can also use Facebook’s restricted list to avoid having to constantly change your privacy settings as your situation changes.
Staying in Control of Timing and Content
If you’re trying to get more personal posts out to your mutual friend or family, you may want to set your posts to be visible only to yourself in order to control the timing of your posts. This allows you to post when your friends’ list is less likely to be paying attention to their Facebook accounts and notice the posts.
You can also select “Edit friend list” to narrow the audience for specific posts if you want to share private posts with a specific friend. Similarly, if you are part of a group or trying to share something with a wider audience, you can set your posts to be visible to friends or friends. This allows you to get your message out there without spamming your friends and potentially irritating them.
Why You Shouldn’t be Concerned About Restrictions?’
People who set their posts to be restricted are still sharing with their friends. This is different from the “only me” setting, which essentially removes you from the equation entirely and ensures that no one sees your posts. If you only want to share with yourself, it’s a good idea to keep this setting for posts that you want to look back on in the future.
When someone sets their posts to be visible only to their friends, it means the content will only be visible to their friends who are also using the Facebook website. This means that people who are not using Facebook will not be able to see the posts.
If you want to try to reach someone who is using the restricted setting, it is possible to do so as long as you have their email address. If you want to discuss something in private but don’t have their email address, you can always send them a message through Facebook.
How long do Facebook restrictions last?
In most cases, posts that someone has set to be visible only to themselves will remain that way unless the person changes their settings. There are a few reasons why someone may change their settings and they are as follows:
They have finished their situation and no longer need to reduce the visibility or hide posts.
They have been added to an account and want to change their settings to avoid seeing things they don’t want to see.
They want to change their privacy settings to be more open and accessible.
You may not know that Facebook has a new feature called “restricted.” This feature allows you to share things with only certain people who are on Facebook. This can be helpful if you don’t want certain people to see a particular post, or if you want to say something without worrying about those around you see it.
If you’re thinking about using this feature on your Facebook Page, it’s important to keep in mind that your Page will still show up to potential customers and other potential users even if it only shows up on their Facebook newsfeeds. That’s not to say that you can’t use this feature on your Page. In fact, it can be very beneficial. But it’s important to understand how your Page will be affected.